Clark County Recycling District oversees the county recycling programs, and may have answers to some of your special problem waste and disposal questions.

Clark County Ordinance #1993-OR-34 established the mandatory recycling program in June, 1993.  It is a law that all residents of Clark County (Sellersburg, Jeffersonville, and Clarksville) must pay the curbside recycling fee if the resident participates or does not participate in the program. Each household in the curbside area incurs a yearly fee of $34.00, which is now included on the property tax statement.  Residents in the unincorporated areas of Clark County pay a $17 annual fee for 24 hr. drop off recycling in Henryville (102 S. Furgeson St.); New Washington (412 S. Poplar St.); Starlight (St. Johns/Rake Rd.) and Borden (14304 Hwy. 60).

Landfill Waste Diversion (Monthly Average) 

  • Borden: 6.49 tons 

  • Henryville: 10.98 tons 

  • New Washington: 2.43 Tons 

  • Starlight: 3.21 Tons 

  • Curbside recycling program: diverts an average of 134 tons of material per month from the landfill

  • Charlestown main office/drop off: diverts an average of 30 tons of material per month from the landfill

  • 2018 Total: 2,248 tons of recycled material (187 tons monthly) 

  • CCRD Fact Sheet

Solid Waste SB 131 Reports

  • s-facebook